Fall Pumpkin Wreath

Hello everyone!  I hope you’re beginning to see some beautiful fall colors where you live.  Fall in Michigan is such a gorgeous season with shades of red, orange and yellow, mixed with different shades of greens, golds and browns, everywhere you look.   There’s a crispness in the air and I can’t help but feel a little energy explode in me!  The changes taking place outside inspired me to work on a fall project, so I decided to start with this wreath!

wreathFor the base of my wreath, I used a 12″ wreath circle board I purchased at Michaels. I covered that with a green cardstock; then I used my silhouette machine to cut out a variety of leaves from a few different colors of cardstock.

These are the supplies I used to fashion my leaves:

wreath suppliesI inked the leaves, sprayed them with ink refresher, then wadded them up to “distress” them.  Once the leaves were dry, I inked the wrinkles with the browns and I must say, I love how they turned out!

I used the pumpkin pieces from my AccuCut Pumpkin Album Die to cut and create the chipboard pumpkin.

chipboard pumpkinI inked the chipboard, using different shades of orange and red, until I got the blended color I wanted.  I used the brown on the edges to help create more dimension and used a little brown with green on the stem.  Then I assembled the pieces and glued them together.

I finished the pumpkin by adding leaves I cut with the silhouette and a little Spanish moss greenery.  I glued my pumpkin to the base of the wreath, then began adding all the different leaves.  I wanted the leaves to be open and “airy” on the project, so I only glued a small area of each leaf (usually the center) to the wreath.

I purchased a fall floral pick that had  berries and acorns in it,  cut them off and used them to finish the wreath.  I hope you like it and I hope it inspires you to create something with fall in mind!

About Karen McDonald - scrapbook treasures and more..

I am a scrapbook and paper crafting addict! I love designing mini scrapbooks, home decor, cards, scrapbook pages and more! I teach at local scrapbook stores when I can and offer classes in my home. Always looking forward to learning new techniques and seeing new product!
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Fall Pumpkin Wreath

  1. Jeanne says:

    Love this project! I’m getting a couple ready to have the grandkids each make one. I think this is one they will really enjoy working on . Thanks for the idea!

    Like

Leave a comment